Possession of Drugs and Penalties in Connecticut

September 21, 2020
Possession of Drugs and Penalties in Connecticut

Drug Possession

Drug possession is a crime of intentional possession of illegal substances such as marijuana, hallucinogenic, or any other controlled substance. In the United States, drug possession accounts for over 80 percent of all drug-associated arrests, according to the Department of Justice. Almost half of those arrests are for possession of marijuana. In part because of law enforcement campaigns aimed at these crimes, drug possession arrests have almost doubled over the last two decades.

In Connecticut, the penalty for unlawful drug possession relies upon a number of different factors, including the amount and type of substance, where the criminal activity takes place, the age of the offender, and whether the criminal act was a first or subsequent offense.


Possession of Marijuana

In Connecticut, marijuana possession was decriminalized for amounts under half an ounce. But more than 1/2 ounce prosecutions are still criminal and can be harsh.

Marijuana possession, if found guilty, carries the following penalties under Connecticut law:

  • Under 1/2 OZ    -  $150 fine (1st offense) and Up to a $500 fine (2nd offense)
  • 1/2 OZ to 4 OZ  - Up to a $1000 fine & Up to 1 year in jail( 1st offense) and Up to a $3000 fine & Up to 5 years in jail( 2nd offense)
  • 4OZ or more     -  Up to a $2000 fine & Up to 5 years in jail(1st offense) and Up to a $5000 fine & Up to 10 years in jail(2nd offense)


Possession of Hallucinogens

Substances listed under the Statutes as Hallucinogens include LSD, Molly, PCP, and Mescaline. Possession of hallucinogenic drugs, if found guilty, carries the following penalties under Connecticut law:

  • 1st offense - Up to a $2000 fine & up to 5 years in jail
  • 2nd offense - Up to a $5000 fine & Up to 10 years in jail


Possession of Narcotics

Substances listed under the Statutes as narcotics include cocaine, heroin, and crack cocaine. Possession of narcotics drugs, if found guilty, carries the following penalties under Connecticut law:

  • 1st offense - Up to a $50,000 fine & Up to 7 years in jail
  • 2nd offense - Up to a $100,000 fine & Up to 15 years in jail


If you were arrested and charged with possession of drugs in Connecticut, contact the Experienced Criminal Lawyer in New Haven, CT for immediate assistance.


All people are equal before the law. A good attorney.