If you are worried about the risk that teenage drivers pose on Connecticut's highways, you are not alone. Even the most responsible teenager lacks enough experience to make important decisions in what are often milliseconds when driving. Furthermore, many teenagers are impulsive and inexperienced which can also make them more susceptible to risky driving. All this adds up to serious dangers when not properly supervised.
How Teenage Drivers Get Licensed in CT
For these reasons, the State of Connecticut introduced a phased approach to teen driver licensing. For a young driver, the first step in the process is getting a learner's permit. This can be achieved at age 16 or 17. The teenager may only drive with a licensed parent or guardian or other adult offering driving instruction during the time that a permit is held. No other passengers are permitted like siblings.
The first step for a teen who would like to obtain a driver's license is to get an instruction permit. A 16- or 17-year-old can apply for an instruction permit (with the parent or guardian's consent) by passing a written test.
Education for Drivers.
Both public and private schools are allowed to host driver training courses for young people. The youth will take a written test to get a driver's education school instruction permit to start practicing with a licensed instructor. The teenagers may apply for a driver's license after 120 days with the instruction permit. Driver's education school can issue a completion certificate after the teen driver has completed 40 hours of driving time, eight hours of driver's safety training and a final driving test.
Connecticut Laws For Teen Licensed Drivers
However, after obtaining a driving license, drivers up to the age of 18 have specific rules that apply only to them:
In addition, drivers under 18 years of age are subject to higher fines for such offenses:
Using your mobile phone while driving
$150 fine, a 30-day suspension
$300 fine, a 90-day suspension
$500 fine, 6-month suspension
Speeding 20+ miles per hour over the limit
60-day suspension, fine
90-day suspension, fine
6-month suspension, fine
If your teenager did get a fine for a driving violation, contact an Experienced Attorney in New Haven, Connecticut