DUI License Suspension In Connecticut

November 3, 2021
DUI License Suspension In Connecticut

In general, if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), your license will be suspended. A license suspension is a statutory consequence of a DUI conviction in the majority of states. There are, however, strategies to reduce the suspension time period.

Administrative Suspensions for DUI Arrests


Implied consent rules require all drivers who have been lawfully arrested for driving under the influence to submit to a chemical test (typically a breath or blood test) when asked. Anyone who refuses to submit to testing or is arrested for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08 percent or above will have their license administratively suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles.


Even if a driver is only arrested for DUI and never convicted, an administrative license suspension may be imposed.


After an OUI (Operating under influence) arrest, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the authority to suspend your driver's license for up to 90 days. If you are convicted of a first-time OUI, your license may be suspended for up to one year.


Penalties


The possible consequences of this offense vary greatly based on the facts and any prior criminal charges. After we've talked about your situation, I'll be able to discuss possible consequences with you. A suspended license charge, on the other hand, can result in jail time.


The length of a license suspension for driving while intoxicated (DUI) is determined by the BAC, prior offenses, age, and type of license.


  • A first-time DUI (BAC of 0.08 or more) results in a 90-day license suspension, or a 120-day suspension if the BAC is 0.16 or higher.
  • At 0.02 BAC, drivers under the age of 21 face a 180-day penalty.
  • If you refuse a breathalyzer test, you will be suspended for 180 days.
  • Driving when the license is suspended (DUI-related) is a serious offense punishable by up to one year in prison (30 days of which cannot be deferred without mitigating circumstances), as well as subsequent license suspension/revocation.


Repeat offenders face harsher penalties: nine months to a year in prison for a second DUI or refusal, and two to three years in prison for a third DUI conviction or refusal.


Even if operating a personal vehicle at the time of arrest, commercial drivers can be charged with OUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is more than 0.04. For operating a commercial vehicle while under the influence, the DMV can revoke a commercial driver's license (CDL) for life, even if it's a first offense. 


Fortunately, there are legal avenues through which you can fight and appeal suspensions, as well as ways to obtain a permit to drive to and from work and while on the job. Our DUI lawyers at New Haven, CT can help you understand your options in your case, and will look into every possibility to assist you to decrease the duration of your suspension or maintain your driving privileges entirely.


All people are equal before the law. A good attorney.